Settle to Carlisle Steam Trips

Picture: Paul Nicholson

Steam trips including the famous Settle to Carlisle line. Note that parts of the journey may be intentionally pulled by a diesel or electric locomotive.

Please check / confirm on the promoters website for cancellations and steam traction / other changes to these trips, particularly with the upcoming strikes.

The Pick Up Area section indicates the rough area of pick ups. See promoters website for exact details

During hot dry periods it is possible steam engines may be replaced by diesel or electric locomotives

Getting Started with PHP

"Settle to Carlisle Line" selected - click other options to filter

All Trips Flying Scotsman
The Dalesman
Tue 23rd July 2024
WCR
Pick Ups Between :
Chester & Preston

Engines Involved: Steam / Other

Settle & Carlisle Steam Special
Sat 27th July 2024
Northern Belle
Pick Ups Between :
Coventry & Crewe

Engines Involved: Steam / Diesel or Electric

The Cumbrian Mountain Express
Sat 3rd August 2024
Rail Touring Company
Pick Ups Between :
London Euston & Preston

Engines Involved: Steam / Electric

The Waverley
Sun 4th August 2024
Rail Touring Company
Pick Ups Between :
York & Skipton

Engines Involved: Steam

Pendle Dalesman
Tue 6th August 2024
WCR
Pick Ups Between :
Lancaster & Clitheroe

Engines Involved: Steam

The Dalesman
Thu 8th August 2024
WCR
Pick Ups Between :
York & Skipton

Engines Involved: Steam / Other

Settle & Carlisle Steam Special
Sat 10th August 2024
Northern Belle
Pick Ups Between :
Leeds & Manchester Victoria

Engines Involved: Steam / Diesel or Electric

Settle & Carlisle Steam Special
Sat 17th August 2024
Northern Belle
Pick Ups Between :
Lincoln & Wakefield

Engines Involved: Steam / Diesel or Electric

The Waverley
Sun 18th August 2024
Rail Touring Company
Pick Ups Between :
York & Skipton

Engines Involved: Steam

The Cumbrian Mountain Express
Sat 24th August 2024
Rail Touring Company
Pick Ups Between :
Crewe & Preston

Engines Involved: Steam

Settle & Carlisle Fellsman
Wed 28th August 2024
Saphos Trains
Pick Ups Between :
Blackpool North & Clitheroe

Engines Involved: Steam

Settle & Carlisle Steam Special
Sat 31st August 2024
Northern Belle
Pick Ups Between :
Hull & Wakefield

Engines Involved: Steam / Diesel or Electric

Pendle Dalesman
Tue 3rd September 2024
WCR
Pick Ups Between :
Lancaster & Clitheroe

Engines Involved: Steam

The Dalesman
Thu 5th September 2024
WCR
Pick Ups Between :
York & Skipton

Engines Involved: Steam / Other

The Waverley
Sun 8th September 2024
Rail Touring Company
Pick Ups Between :
York & Skipton

Engines Involved: Steam

Settle & Carlisle Steam Special
Sat 14th September 2024
Northern Belle
Pick Ups Between :
Liverpool Lime Street & Preston

Engines Involved: Steam / Diesel or Electric

The Dalesman
Tue 17th September 2024
WCR
Pick Ups Between :
Chester & Preston

Engines Involved: Steam / Other

The Dalesman
Thu 19th September 2024
WCR
Pick Ups Between :
York & Skipton

Engines Involved: Steam / Other

Settle & Carlisle Steam Special
Sat 21st September 2024
Northern Belle
Pick Ups Between :
Telford & Chester

Engines Involved: Steam / Diesel or Electric

The Dalesman
Thu 3rd October 2024
WCR
Pick Ups Between :
York & Skipton

Engines Involved: Steam / Other

The Cumbrian Mountain Express
Sat 5th October 2024
Rail Touring Company
Pick Ups Between :
London Euston & Preston

Engines Involved: Steam / Electric

Settle & Carlisle Steam Special
Sat 19th October 2024
Northern Belle
Pick Ups Between :
Coventry & Chester

Engines Involved: Steam / Diesel or Electric

Settle & Carlisle Steam Special
Sat 26th October 2024
Northern Belle
Pick Ups Between :
Nottingham & Sheffield

Engines Involved: Steam / Diesel or Electric